Fighting Depression

pexels-photo-207247.jpeg

Image taken from pexels.com

 

An old enemy is back, officially. Is it an enemy or a friend? Actually, I’m not too sure, but the most important thing is, it is back. It has a name. It’s called depression. I’ve known it well. Had met it before, a few times.

A friend or a foe, whatever it is, I am fighting it. It’s crippling for sure. It’s trying to take me down. Sorry, bud. You are still a foe, an enemy, I think. Because then why would I have to fight you?

Perhaps my angel is keeping an eye on me, because an old friend sent me a video yesterday. I watched it today and it was about fighting depression. Coincidence? Serendipity? I don’t think so. Things happen for a reason. The video is about a drug that can possibly be used to PREVENT depression and PTSD. Prevent! Instead of waiting for the enemy to come back, it can be prevented from showing up at all. But hold on the excitement, it will still take years for it probably to be available because it was just recently discovered. Oh well.

Here is the link to the video titled “Could a Drug Prevent Depression and PTSD?

This essay is also a testimony for something that I admit I have, that this thing has a way to creep into my daily life once in a while. I would like to say that it is okay to have it. It’s something that I have accepted, although I know it doesn’t come without a fight. It’s a debilitating thought process, but I know I can get through it. And for my readers and friends out there, I want you to know that there are things we all can do to manage depression. You can find many videos that talk about this.

For me and what I can do in this fight against depression, I would like to share some of my writings in the future that may touch on this issue, particularly about the process of debilitating thinking process that is often experienced in cases of depression. Depression is about a thinking process that can go out of control and lead to decisions and actions that may cause more suffering in the end. Depression is a mental illness, it needs to be paid attention to, but we don’t have to succumb to it. That debilitating thinking process can be recognized and handled, although it will take plenty of practices, many failures, before mastering it.

God bless you, God bless us all.

 

